“In some countries, WhatsApp is like Oxygen”-Quoted by Jan Koum.
In the recent times there have been so many confusions in the recent update. There was a lot of misinformation.
WhatsApp is constructed based on a simple idea of what you share with your friends and family stays between you. This will always protect your personal conversation with end-to-end encryption, that neither WhatsApp nor Facebook can see the private messages. They don’t keep logs of who everyone’s messaging or calling. They can’t see your shared location and we don’t share your contacts with Facebook.
To further spice the update it added further transparency about how they collect and use data. But the “messages with friends and family” shall not be affected but not with the case of business messaging. “Messaging with businesses is different from messaging with your family or friends” and “the large businesses need to use hosting services to manage their communication”.
In the latest update WhatsApp is provides businesses the feature to use secure hosting services from Facebook to manage WhatsApp chats with their customers answer questions and send useful information like purchase receipts. It is briefed that “whether you employ phone, WhatsApp or e-mail for business communication, they go to examine your chats and can or won’t use that information for its own marketing purposes, which may help in advertisement on Facebook.
· Messages, hearing calls:
WhatsApp cleared it that they can’t read the messages or overhear your calls and nor the Facebook. WhatsApp reiterates on end-to-end encrypted chats. They also strongly told that they will never weaken that security and clearly label each and every chat so that their commitment is ascertained.
· Logs of chat and calls:
WhatsApp declared that “they won’t keep the records of two billion users because it is privacy and security risk.”
· Shared Locations:
When you are sharing your location with someone on WhatsApp, the location is protected by end-to-end encryption, which means no one can see the location except the person you share it with.
· Contacts with Facebook:
The app does not share the person’s contact with Facebook or other apps owned by Facebook.
· Group Privacy:
The chats on groups are also end-to-end encrypted and not shared with Facebook for ad purpose.
· Disappearing Messages:
The additional privacy introduced is the disappearing messages which will be deleted from the chat once you send them. The feature has to be individually turned on in each and every personal and group chat. The message takes seven days to disappear.